My Favorite Things

2 Comments

The older I get, the more I know that there’s still a lot I don’t know. And I’ve also come to realize that my most favorite things cost little or no money.

Things like gentle breezes. Winter’s hush. Baby kisses. Cozy afghans. Squishy socks. A good cuppa coffee. Doggy nuzzles.

For info on how to personalize your own pillow, click image...

For info on how to personalize your own pillow, click image…

I see people rushing out to buy the latest greatest everything, from new techie gadgets to new SUVs; another “dream” home to replace the first one; and a pair of trendy shoes to add to the collection that now requires a shelf-lined room of its own. We are a materialistic society, bent on staying up with whatever’s popular out there. (Have you ever personally met the people who decide which way to jerk your chain? They announce what’s In and what’s Out, like turning a light switch on and off. And people jump, like cracked wooden puppets.)

Sad.

So, I decided to create something tangible that I could touch and read–a list of my favorite things (well, some of them) on a throw pillow.

The more I ponder this list, the more thankful I am for life’s little blessings. Because in the end, they aren’t so little after all, are they?

*For info on creating your very own “My Favorite Things” pillow, click image.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

  1. Hi, Bonnie! 🙂 Though I was never really entrenched in that lifestyle, thankfully. Keeping up with The Joneses is tiring work, I would imagine. It really hit home when I watched the PBS documentary, Affluenza, and started reading simple living books. Now, my life is quite simplified and I want/desire very little. My money and time are now directed towards travel and experiences and, from time to time, helping others. There is much to appreciate and to be grateful for.

  2. Sounds like you lead a happy life, Paul! Stuff sure can weigh us down. Glad my parents taught us more what matters, from a young age. Everything we own will be left behind someday, so the frenzy to acquire more stuff has never made sense to me.

Leave a Reply

