Iris Tenax Along the Trail

6 Comments

Oregon iris (Iris tenax)

Oregon iris (Iris tenax)

In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks. ~John Muir

We spent five days on the Oregon coast. The weather was perfect and my Canon got a good workout. I captured this photo along a trail at Cape Perpetua, where irises grow wild on the hillsides.

I grow irises (also purple) in my backyard, but there’s something special about these smaller, wild-and-free versions of one of my favorite flowers. They’re delicate and look beautiful against the green of Spring.

6 thoughts on “Iris Tenax Along the Trail

  1. As an artist I’m inspired! I could’nt begin to paint a background that could softly cradle this delicate purple jewel. AWESOME! Glad I found you! thanks to apreacherswife!

Leave a Reply

