Snapdragon

14 Comments

A garden really lives only insofar as it is an expression of faith, the embodiment of a hope and a song of praise. – Russell Page, The Education of a Gardener, 1962

I’ve been digging for the history of various flowers, and came across some interesting tidbits about the snapdragon. Did you know that this flower originated in southern Spain, and later spread into the entire Roman Empire? The Snapdragon was popular for decorative purposes (as opposed to medicinal uses like certain other plants), and according to one source via the University of Hamburg, I learned that many ancient ruins of that era still have snapdragons popping up every year. While they’re not considered true perennials, they tend to act like a perennial if the climate is just right. Most snapdragons are self-seeding annuals, so they will come back each year, normally in greater numbers, but they are technically not the same plants as the years before; just proud “parents” & “grandparents”.

Here’s a snapdragon from my flowerbeds out back. From the two I planted last spring, I now have almost a dozen! I wonder what next year will bring? Gardening is a neverending surprise!

14 thoughts on “Snapdragon

  1. Yes, gardens are a constent work in progress full of surprises…

    I really like the tones that complement the soft depth of field and the curve of the plant.

  2. I find this to be a very soothing image with beautiful color. I love the soft treatment you add to your images, it works perfectly with the natural beauty of the flowers. Great work as always…

  3. Thanks for your visit and encouraging words today on my blog.
    Most of all, I’m glad it led me to YOURS! WOW! I have just grazed the surface of your beautiful images. God has surely given us a gorgeous world here, and you have captured His creativity perfectly! I’ll be back often!
    ~~nina

  4. Pingback: plants and gardening

  5. That’s a most beautiful picture. I love flowers.

    Thank you for visiting my blog, Bonnie. I’ve added your blog to my Photography Websites page.It’s an amazing photoblog. 🙂

    Claudia

  6. How do you do it Bonnie? I’d love to spend a week with you. I’d be your best student! I have plans for snapdragons. Always loved those snappy little buds.

Leave a Reply

