Tiny Surprise

8 Comments

It is a terrible thing to see and have no vision. – Helen Keller

(Couldn’t resist posting a “bonus” post this morning.)
I set out to take pictures of goldfinches this morning, and ended up discovering a tiny surprise in my flower garden. That’s what sometimes happens if I step away from the norm. I’d prepared my Canon 5D with a 70-200mm telephoto lens, thinking I’d sit off in the shadows a ways and catch the goldfinches breakfasting at the feeders.
img_2593.jpg
When the goldfinches took off, I turned the lens to something else–flowers, which have grown in all directions, thanks to our recent hot temps. Admittedly, I didn’t expect much in the way of flower photos, since I’m so stuck on my 100mm macro lens. A telephoto isn’t my first choice for shots like that. Look what it found for me, though…a tiny mushroom tucked in the folds of a verbena. I’d have probably missed it, had I not been messing around with that lens. You never know what’ll crop up with a little experimentation. Try it for yourself!
img_2638-copy.jpg

Purchase prints

8 thoughts on “Tiny Surprise

  1. Love the Goldfinch picture, Bonnie. It makes me smile. I’ve got one of these feeders in my backyard and I like to watch them hang upside down. I didn’t know, until looking at your picture that they hang by only one ‘toe’! Fantastic! 🙂

  2. My apartment balcony is open to the elements. I have a birdbath, which gets used every day by all the native and non-native birds. I don’t feed them, but do feed fruit often to the local ringtail possum family that comes visiting at night. If anything is left over the following morning, the birds will usually pick at it too! And I sometimes wish I had the gear to take photos, especially when the birds take a bath! My pick is the mushroom photo; I can see it on a card/calendar. Nice one! 😉

  3. These are such a sweet photos.

    The goldfinch is hysterical and gentle really.

    I’m waiting for the fairies to come out and dance among the blossoms around the mushroom.

Leave a Reply

