Generations

7 Comments

Life is no brief candle to me. It is a sort of splendid torch which I have got a hold of for the moment, and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it onto future generations. – George Bernard Shaw

Cosmos bud and flower early Saturday morning at ISO 100, 1/10 at f7.1. I didn’t realize at the time I shot this image how the clump of buds would overlap the fully bloomed flower. Kind of reminded me of two generations–a theme I seem to be repeating in my garden photos.
img_2161-copy.jpg
Purchase prints

7 thoughts on “Generations

  1. You know, bonnie, the more that I look at this flower, you call Cosmos, the more it begins to look very familiar to a flower growing here in Australia by another name. Is it possible for you to give us a ‘clear’ pix of it, so that I can get a fix on the name of it, please?
    PS: Lovely, as usual!

  2. So much depth in this one Bonnie, with the overlapping, I feel as if I could pluck the top bud right out of the pic. It’s bursting right out of the photo! claudia

  3. The link you gave showed two flowers. What this pix reminded me of was the clematis, which comes in many forms, and is one of my favourite flowers. However, on checking further, came across two sources; one for images of the many colours and forms of the Cosmos, and the wikipedia entry. It is not a clematis, but of the Asteraceae family — aster, daisy, sunflower, chrysanthemums and even the humble dandelion. So, thank you, bonnie; I’ve learned a lot! My favourites are the seashell, psycho white and candy stripe cosmos. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

