Dawn’s Paintbrush

9 Comments

But the flower leaned aside
And thought of naught to say,
And morning found the breeze
A hundred miles away.
– Robert Frost

I usually tend to photograph wide open at f2.8 and much closer than this, but I backed off a bit on this particular morning and let warm light sift between the coneflowers. Shot this one with my 100mm lens, 1/60 f5.6. The results surprised me–almost as if Dawn had brought a paintbrush. That’s the thing that excites me about photography–there’s always more to learn.

img_1926-copy.jpg
Purchase prints

9 thoughts on “Dawn’s Paintbrush

  1. Truly a stunning photograph. I am starting to get into photography. More to learn. I am sure as in Gardening- Taking photographs, you learn something new all the time.

  2. Lovely rich toning and the warmth of the light is amazing and really well balanced with the cooler color of the coneflowers.

    I’ve missed some beautiful photos this week I see. Been a bit busy.

  3. This is my first time at your blog – very cool stuff! The smearing of the colors give your photos a surreal quality.

    Personally I don’t do much macro photography because as a computer geek, ex-chemist, and german engineering type linear thinker, the shallow depth of field drives me crazy. I could go for an f/64 lens for my 35mm!

    On the other hand, I really like what I see here and over at Bernie Kasper’s blog. Maybe I’ll try and expand my horizons a bit next time I’m out shooting.

  4. I agree about it looking like a painting. Even the flower that has lost its petals makes it unique and attractive in its own right. I like this very much!

Leave a Reply

