Sunflower in Black & White

13 Comments

Insist upon yourself; never imitate. 
 – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I love sunflowers. My great-grandmother worked in her garden daily, and at age 97 she was featured in a newspaper article, complete with a photo of her in a bonnet, weeding her flowerbeds. She passed away before I was born, but my mother talked about her love for sunflowers, which must have carried on all the way to me. This summer I planted two types–red and yellow–and they’re bursting into bloom one by one, turning my backyard into an explosion of color. It’s the first time I’ve ever planted sunflower, and won’t be the last.

img_8810-copy.jpg
Purchase prints

13 thoughts on “Sunflower in Black & White

  1. I love the contrast and the tones in this one. Very beautiful. I noticed that gold finches like to perch on the sunflowers and eat the seeds out of the flowers. I wish I had my camera handy when I saw one hanging on upside down (the heads droop over when they get heavy with seeds) to the one in my garden, while eating all the seeds. You’ll want to have your camera ready for that when it happens.

  2. When you know how beautiful they are in color you would never realize how gorgeous they would be in b/w. I still see the color even though it’s not there! Amazing.

  3. I just really like seeing things in B&W. Instead of concentrating on the colors, I get to look at all of these cool lines an textures, especially within the leaf. That glow on the flower petals is just wonderful! Lovely, Bonnie!

  4. This picture caught my eye, very bold, yet so simple (it looks simple I should say), I could make a statement with a picture like this.

    Respectfully,

  5. Sunflowers are my very favorite flower. Ironically, I can’t grow them where I live because I have no sunny spots around my house. So thank you for sharing this. Even in black and white, it is sunshine for my soul.

  6. I stumbled upon your site quite accidentally…
    and found it wonderfully inspiring.
    Thank you,
    for sharing yourself with the rest of us!

  7. I consider this blog , “Sunflower in Black & White Photo Buffet”, highly compelling plus it was
    a wonderful read. Many thanks-Cynthia

Leave a Reply

